Did you know?
Wherever possible we source our bricks from the UK.
Waterside Living Enveloped In History
The Nash Mills Wharf development of properties for sale in Hemel Hempstead has been carefully designed to sit comfortably within the beautiful canal side setting and bring life back into the original site of the old mill. Our planners, architects and developers have lovingly created a development and environment that revives this part of the canal and creates superbly designed contemporary living.
Taking full advantage of this historic canalside setting near Hemel Hempstead, Nash Mills Wharf is perfectly placed to offer the best of waterside living. Surrounded by the rolling Chiltern Hills, a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty yet only 30 minutes from central London, the balance couldn’t be more perfect.
Explore The Local Area
The rolling Chiltern Hills and the Grand Union Canal are right on your doorstep at The Lockside Apartments, with medieval castles and traditional boutique shops nearby that show the remarkable historical aspect of the area. This provides a fabulous base for days of exploring, with something for everyone.
An Area Rich In History...
The old mill has a long, storybook history dating back to ancient times when it belonged to the Abbey of St Albans. Once a medieval corn mill, the mill was first used for making paper from cotton rags. It was eventually bought by John Dickinson in the early 1800’s to make paper by a new machine method which he had patented. He lived at Nash House with his wife and children before moving to the nearby mansion of Abbots Hill, now a prestigious girls school.
Over the years the mill was handed down to several family members, including John Dickinson’s nephew who eventually took over the business. During the early 1900’s Nash Mill became the largest producer of pulp board in the UK and 50,000 packets of notepaper, postcards and pencils were dispatched as gifts to the troops in WW1.
After a series of mergers and takeovers, the mill was purchased by Sappi, a global leading producer of fine papers before officially closing in 2006.
The mill’s waterfront will be opened up to the general public for the first time whilst original buildings such as Nash House and Stephenson’s Cottage will be retained and refurbished.
The Grade II listed war memorial gardens are a historical testament to the men who worked at the original mill and they are also being enhanced and retained to provide graceful gardens.